Man v. Man

“Daddy said yes!” She throws her arms around my neck, reaching for a kiss but I plant my hand on her waist to still the movement; I will not kiss a gal in front of her father.

As it is, his eyes are watching the shrinking space between us. “Thank you, sir.”

He huffs. “I didn’t do this for you.”

“Of course, sir.”

I step back so my body separates from his daughter’s. I like Lucy, but I don’t want a shotgun in my face and if she was my daughter, the weapon would already be loaded. Possibly, hidden somewhere in this room.

“I’ll go get my coat.” Lucy presses in again and I grit my teeth as her lips brush the flesh of my ear. “Be right back.”

Cool air replaces her warm body. Her father watched the entire interaction. “My girl knows what she wants.”

I nod, unsure.

“I don’t want to hear about you two at Necker’s Point.”

My face warms. “Never, sir.”

The man grunts. “I was a lad not that long ago. I know –“

“Ready!”

Lucy comes back into the room, kisses her father’s cheek. His hard eyes hold mine, like he can see every night I spent fantasized about his daughter.

“Let’s go.”


My submission for the Flash!Friday contest. Word count 190-210. The prompt must include a Man v. Man conflict and incorporate this photo:

Scene from the Hungarian film

Leave a Reply

