Endurance

Every month it is the same, they come and go and never stay.  The table is empty again, like it always is after they let their leases end.

I often wonder why they leave me.  The student from across the sea seemed content; an elderly woman and I had spoken for hours – or at least an hour – that one time.

It must be me, or maybe they find something around this table so unsatisfying.

I pick up the cleaning supplies, spray the bottle and follow with a rag. I straighten the chairs and look at the calendar.

Another first of the month is here, along with three empty rooms and waiting to fill them.


Written for Paint With Words via the Blog Propellant.

9 thoughts on “Endurance

      1. Not your writing, the image itself! I found that image as-is. It was on a site for posters, wall art and vinyl lettering for your wall. I wondered who would have thought to place the definition of “endurance” in vinyl lettering above a dining table? I didn’t get it. But you made a very nice connection!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh I see! I’ve received one or two comments by readers in the past that a particular piece was difficult to understand, so I thought that was what you meant here. Glad it wasn’t the case. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. weebluebirdie

    I always look forward to your posts. You write so well; particularly at showing what lies beneath the words. You have a skill at saying it all very succinctly.

    Like

  2. Pingback: 1 Month/20 Prompts | The Blog Propellant

Leave a Reply

