NaNoWriMo Day 1:

I am back from my travels just in time for National Novel Writing Month!

This November I’m going to do something a bit different. While my blog is primarily flash fiction, I’ve decided to take this month to chronicle this challenge. I’m excited to get back to novel writing after taking the last year or so off.

This is my third year of the challenge, having “won” both 2012 and 2013. My reward was two novels worth of, well…content. Some, worthy of editing; some, not so much. But now I’m back with a brand new idea and a blog.

Why not combine the two?

I welcome you to follow along! I don’t know if I will be writing much flash this month, but I’m not counting it out completely.

A Bit about Today:

Coming back to the empty page is always daunting. I knew what I planned to write, but every time it is the same feeling – a mixture of excitement and ‘what the hell am I getting into?’

I wrote the word count in two sittings, completing the first scene and starting the next. It’s strange not to have a finished story after 1000+ words, but that’s the nature of this novel experience. (Har. Har. Har)

Favorite Excerpt:

By the time Benny turned back towards the table, Jake could tell his friend had forgotten what he was about to say.

“Something about ‘fun?’” Jake prompted.

Benny was absently stroking the furry spot behind Cody’s left ear and made a confused little noise. Jake pointed to his pocket.

“Oh right, here, a flyer for a party. I’ve come to bring you fun.”

Jake perked up. He hadn’t been to a party since graduating high school last year. In fact, he was starting to feel socially stunted. It had been a while since he hung out with anyone other than Cody.

His dog lifted his head from Benny’s lap and titled it to the side. “I am wonderful company.”

Had he mentioned that sometimes Cody spoke to him telepathically?

“I need human friends too. How many times do I have to tell you?”

And sometimes Jake responded.

Cody huffed in response and turned his head back to Benny’s petting.

I’m going to try and post every few days. Good luck to everyone else on this wacky journey!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 1:

Leave a Reply

