NaNoWriMo Day 7:

Passed the 10k mark!

The past two days were a complete wash but an excusable one since my sister and her fiance were in town. But today, I put on my discipline hat and told myself I would get from 7,415 to 11,666.

A Bit About Today:

Well, I failed.

But did I really? I fell short of the goal but I did write over 3,000 words and thoroughly enjoyed my scenes. My progression and my pace also came out of that weird beginning stage I tend to go through, where the characters haven’t fully wandered into the story yet.  Also – romance! Things are starting to get steamy. Literally, there was a very solo, very warm, shower scene.

I’m delirious with words write now which is why I thought I’d keep this sleep addled away from the scene I’m about to write. Tomorrow is another day!

(One of My) Favorite Excerpt:

Pulling up to the McWilliams house was nothing like pulling up to his own. The immaculate landscaping sat against a well swept stone path. The path led up to the Craftsman style home with a red door; it almost fell right out of a Christmas ad, even in late summer.

He used the towel by the door to wipe off Cody, since the towel was probably placed there by the McWilliams for that purpose. He sat his overnight back on the shelf and his jacked on the usual hook by the door.

He couldn’t even make it passed the foyer before Mr. McWilliams had him in a tight hug. The older man pulled back and clicked his tongue. “Those overnighters leave you looking fried kid. Feel free to use the shower.”

“Is that Jake?” Mrs. McWilliams shouted from the other room.

“Half of him. I think he left the other half with the sheep.”

Jake rolled his eyes and followed the woman’s voice into the living room. Benny was already lounging on the u-shaped couch that took up most of the living room and framed the unseasonally lit fireplace.

Vanessa was nowhere to be seen. Not like he was keeping track.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 7:

Leave a Reply

