NaNoWriMo Day 11:

I had the day off from work so I spent it writing and playing Fallout 4 and writing some more! The bad news: I’m still behind. The good news: I’m only behind 530 words.

We’re supposed to be at 18,333.

This is the part of my NaNoWriMo journey where I have to wait for GoogleDocs to load all the pages, where once formed chapters now blur into a string of scenes, where I sometimes scroll back up and add a detail or two. There is just so much content now!

For the first time doing this little challenge, I don’t feel overwhelmed.  The story is flowing and my core character’s are fully-formed(ish) in my mind. I have a group dynamic with this story that is fun to write. I do worry that some scenes may be too…campy? But that’s why we edit. Right? Right.

A Bit About Today

I came to today a full day behind, but intentionally. I needed time to think about where I was going with this part of the story and wanted to be fresh from my mega-writing spree this weekend!

So when I opened my document today, the first scene flew by – most of it was planned in my head and in one solid hour I got made up for what I missed yesterday. Then it was time to face today’s words. This arc was still pouring from my fingers but my stamina and style were starting to suffer after the long day. So, more for tomorrow!

Favorite Excerpt

“I’m going to start a fire,” Benny announced.

Jake groaned but moved closer to the pit at the center of the campsite. “You’re just trying to change the subject.”

“I told you I don’t want to talk about you and Vanessa.”

Jake remembered the feel of her in his arms, her soft skin. “Who else am I supposed to talk to about it?”

“I don’t know but not me.”

“Oh come on!” Jake pleaded. “She told me all about the other guys and everything.”

Benny looked up from his squat by the tower of wooden sticks. “She did?”

“Yes.” Jake felt proud. He wasn’t freaking out. He was a mature adult man who was having mature adult reactions to a girl preferring non-exclusivity.

“And how does that make you feel?” Benny urged him to continue.

“What are you, a therapist? It’s fine.” Jake told the wooden sticks.

Leave a Reply

